Welcome to the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards website

The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Competition is the most prestigious and respected Award for journalists across the African Continent. Its objective is to reinforce the importance of the role of journalists in Africa's development and to reward, recognise and encourage journalistic talent across all media disciplines.

And the WINNER is ...

We are pleased to announce the joint winners of the 2016 Overall Award are Asha Ahmed Mwilu and Rashid Iddi.

Please click here to see the other winners from the Awards ceremony in Johannesburg.

In this photo, Asha and Rashid are photographed with Greg Beitchman, CNN International's Vice President of Content Sales and Partnerships and Yolisa Phahle, CEO of M-Net.


The 2016 finalists take to the stage

Introducing the 2016 Finalists

Here are the 38 finalists of the 2016 CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards and you can learn more about them here.

The 2016 finalists have been announced!

Finalists in the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2016 Competition were announced today by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel.

This year, the competition received over 1,600 entries - a record number - from 38 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese-speaking Africa.

Congratulations go to:

Adedayo Eriye Oketola, Saturday Punch, Nigeria

Ancillar Mangena, Forbes Africa, South Africa

Asha Ahmed Mwilu & Rashid Idi, Kenya Television Network, Kenya

Ati Metwaly, Al Ahram Weekly, Egypt

Bento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, Mozambique

Bidossèssi Appolinaire Agoïnon, Office de Radiodiffusion et Télévision du Bénin, Benin

Cheboite Kigen, Daily Nation Newspaper, Kenya

Chika Oduah, Nigeria, Freelancer at African Media Initiative, Kenya

Cleófas Viagem, STV, Mozambique

Conan Daniel Businge & Gerald Tenywa, New Vision, Uganda

Coulibaly Zoumana, Le Patriote, Ivory Coast

Diana Neille, Richard Poplak, Shaun Swingler and Sumeya Gasa, Daily Maverick Chronicle, South Africa

Dominic Omondi, The Standard, Kenya

Eromo Egbejule, Freelancer at Ventures Africa, Nigeria

Faten Hayed, El Watan, Algeria

Fidelto Emidio Bata, STV, Mozambique

Folashade Adebayo, The Punch, Nigeria

Garreth van Niekerk, City Press, South Africa

Isaac Otidi Amuke, Commonwealth Writers, Kenya

James Oatway, The Sunday Times, South Africa

Jay Caboz, Forbes Africa, South Africa

Jean-Luc Emile, Teleplus, Mauritius

John Grobler, Namibia, and Fiona Macleod, Oxpeckers Investigative Environmental Journalism, South Africa

Lawrence Seretse, The Botswana Gazette, Botswana

Mia Malan, Mail & Guardian, South Africa

Teresa Fuquiadi, Jornal Nova Gazeta, Angola

Veronica Narkwor Kwabla, Tv3 Network, Ghana

Veronica Onuchi, TVC News Africa, Nigeria

Yemisi Akinbobola, Ogechi Ekeanyanwu & Paul Bradshaw, IQ4News for Premium Times, Nigeria

The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 is.... Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou from Burkina Faso!!

The 20th African Journalist Awards 2015 were held at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre in Nairobi to crown and celebrate the crème de la crème in different journalism fields across Africa.

On Saturday, October 10th 2015 we crowned Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou from Burkina Faso The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015.

Here he is pictured with President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya, Deborah Rayner SVP International Newsgathering TV and Digital and Tim Jacobs CEO MultiChoice Africa.

Our Social Media Channels